WEDNESDAY, MAY 15 AT 7PM

THE DEER CAMP
BY DEAN KUIPERS
in conversation with JOE DONNELLY

For readers of The Stranger in the Woods and H Is for Hawk, a beautifully written and emotionally rewarding memoir about a father, his three sons, and a scrappy 100-acre piece of land in rural Michigan.

Some families have to dig hard to find the love that holds them together. Some have to grow it out of the ground.

Bruce Kuipers was good at hunting, fishing, and working, but not at much else that makes a real father or husband. Conflicted, angry, and a serial cheater, he destroyed his relationship with his wife, Nancy, and alienated his three sons-journalist Dean, woodsman Brett, and troubled yet brilliant fisherman Joe. He distrusted people and clung to rural America as a place to hide.

So when Bruce purchased a 100-acre hunting property as a way to reconnect with his sons, they resisted. The land was the perfect bait, but none of them knew how to be together as a family. Conflicts arose over whether the land-an old farm that had been degraded and reduced to a few stands of pine and blowing sand-should be left alone or be actively restored. After a decade-long impasse, Bruce acquiesced, and his sons proceeded with their restoration plan. What happened next was a miracle of nature.

Dean Kuipers weaves a beautiful and surprising story about the restorative power of land and of his own family, which so desperately needed healing. Heartwarming and profound, The Deer Camp is the perfect story of fathers, sons, and the beauty and magic of the natural world.

This is a resplendent celebration of childhood, an elegy for broken fathers, and a communion with immensities. Kuipers maps how a shattered family can wade into wilderness and be bound back together by water and sky. Reading this is like hearing animal songs at night. You can feel the pines in these pages, and know that a tree is growing where this book once stood."


―Benjamin Busch, author of DUST TO DUST

Dean Kuipers has studied and written about the field of environmental politics and the human-nature relationship for decades. He is the author of Burning Rainbow Farm and Operation Bite Back. His work has appeared in the Los Angeles Times, Outside, The Atlantic, Men's Journal, Rolling Stone, and Playboy. He lives in Los Angeles.

Joe Donnelly is an award winning journalist, editor, and writer. His short story, "Bonus Baby," was selected for the prestigious O. Henry Prize Stories 2016 collection. His book, L.A. Man: Profiles from a Big City and a Small World was published in April, 2018. He is currently Visiting Assistant Professor of English and Journalism at Whitter College.

Here's the thing...

If you're getting a book signed at Chevalier's, please purchase it at Chevalier's.

Our events are free, and we welcome anyone and everyone to enjoy a night of riveting intellectual discussion. We are, however, a small independent bookstore, and we rely on event revenues to continue hosting them. So, if you're going to get a book signed,please purchase that book here. This way, we can keep the spectacular nights coming.

xoxo, 

Chevalier's 

VISIT 

CONTACT 

HOURS 

FOLLOW

126 N Larchmont Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90004
323 - 465 - 1334
chevaliersbooks@gmail.com
Mon-Wed: 10AM - 6PM 
Thurs-Fri: 10AM - 7PM
Sun-Sat: 9AM - 6PM
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle