WEDNESDAY, JUNE 5 AT 7PM

SWIMMING FOR SUNLIGHT
BY ALLIE LARKIN
in conversation with  JULIE BUXBAUM

A sweet novel perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Claire Cook about hope and renewal.

Aspiring costume designer Katie gave up everything in her divorce to gain custody of her fearful, faithful rescue dog, Barkimedes. While she figures out what to do next, she heads back to Florida to live with her grandmother, Nan.

But Katie quickly learns there’s a lot she doesn’t know about Nan—like the fact that in her youth Nan was a mermaid performer in a roadside attraction show, swimming and dancing underwater with a close-knit cast of talented women. Although most of the mermaids have since lost touch, Katie helps Nan search for her old friends on Facebook, sparking hopes for a reunion show. Katie is up for making some fabulous costumes, but first, she has to contend with her crippling fear of water. 

As Katie’s college love Luca, a documentary filmmaker, enters the fray, Katie struggles to balance her hopes with her anxiety, and begins to realize just how much Bark’s fears are connected to her own, in this thoughtful, charming novel about hope after loss and friendships that span generations.

Allie Larkin is the internationally bestselling author of the novels, Stay and Why Can’t I Be You. Her short fiction has been published in the Summerset Review and Slice, and nonfiction in the anthologies, I’m Not the Biggest Bitch in This Relationship and Author in Progress. She lives in the Bay Area with her husband, Jeremy, and their fearful, faithful German Shepherd, Stella.

Julie Buxbaum is the New York Times best selling author of Tell Me Three Things, her young adult debut, What to Say Next and the recent Hope and other Punchlines. She’s also the author of two critically acclaimed novels for adults: The Opposite of Love and After You. Her work has been translated into twenty-five languages. Julie’s writing has appeared in various publications, including The New York Times. 

Here's the thing...

If you're getting a book signed at Chevalier's, please purchase it at Chevalier's.

Our events are free, and we welcome anyone and everyone to enjoy a night of riveting intellectual discussion. We are, however, a small independent bookstore, and we rely on event revenues to continue hosting them. So, if you're going to get a book signed,please purchase that book here. This way, we can keep the spectacular nights coming.

xoxo, 

Chevalier's 

VISIT 

CONTACT 

HOURS 

FOLLOW

126 N Larchmont Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90004
323 - 465 - 1334
chevaliersbooks@gmail.com
Mon-Wed: 10AM - 6PM 
Thurs-Fri: 10AM - 7PM
Sun-Sat: 9AM - 6PM
‚Äč
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle